04/26/2018 - 10/27/2018
United States

 

Described by ESPN as, “the toughest two minutes in sports,” the 3M Scott Firefighter Combat Challenge encourages firefighter fitness and demonstrates the profession’s rigors to the public. Wearing “full bunker gear” and the Scott 5.5 Air-Pak SCBA, pairs of competitors race head-to-head as they simulate the physical demands of real-life firefighting, performing a series of five tasks that include climbing a five-story tower, hoisting, chopping, dragging hoses and rescuing a life-sized, 175 lb. “victim” while racing against themselves, their opponent and the clock. The event attracts hundreds of U.S. and Canadian municipal fire departments and take place at more than 25 locations, as well as New Zealand, Germany, Argentina, Chile, and South Africa.

Challenge season begins in April at FDIC and culminates with World Challenge at the end of October. Registration information for competitors is available at www.firefighterchallenge.com. In most cases, the event is open to the public and free to watch. Below, is the current 2018 tour schedule.

Thur–Sat April 26–28 FDIC Indianapolis, Indiana
Fri-Sat May 4-5 Tinley Park, IL
Fri-Sat May 11-12 Apopka, FL
Fri-Sat May 18-19 Va Beach, VA
Fri-Sat June 1-2 Sioux Center, IA
Fri-Sat June 15-16 Elkhart, IN
Sat-Sun June 23-24 Lexington, KY
Fri-Sat June 29-30 Montgomery, AL
Fri-Sat July 13-14 Bloomington, MN
Fri-Sat Aug 3-4 Longmont, CO
Fri-Sat Aug 17-18 Elko, NV
Sat-Sun Sep 1-2 Grand Island, NE
Fri-Sat Sep 14-15 Fort Pierce, FL
Sat-Sun Sep 22-23 Carlsbad, NM
Fri-Sat Sep 28-29 State Fair of Virginia
Fri-Sun Oct 5-7 Branson, MO
Mon-Sat Oct 22-27 WC XXVII – Sacramento, CA

 

Think you have what it takes? Take a look at this video walkthrough of the course from Challenge Operations Manager, Todd Shelton.